Our Research Groups

1. Applied Surface Science And Vacuum Technology And Metrology

Group Leader: Nenad Bundaleski

Labs: 244 and 246, Ed. 1

The goals of the Surface Science and  Vacuum Technology group may be outlined on the following topics:

  • Surface supported nanoclusters and nanocatalysis
  • Surface reactions, surface tailoring and ultrathin film growth
  • Analysis of biological materials by surface analysis techniques
  • Permeability evaluation and gas confinement
  • Vacuum and ultra-low flow calibration

Research is mainly experimental and is supported by Time-of- flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (Tof-SIMS), X-Ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS), Auger Electron Spectroscopy (AES) and Low Energy Ion Scattering  (LEIS).

The group facilities includes the ISO17025 accredited laboratory— METROVAC, that offers calibration, testing and analytical services to the community.

Materials characterization for other research groups is routinely performed in the frame of scientific exchange.


2. Atomic and Molecular Collisions

Group Leader: Filipe Ferreira da Silva

Lab: 123, Ed. 1

The Atomic and Molecular Collisions Laboratory (LCAM - Laboratório de Colisões Atómicas e Moleculares) was founded in 2004 with the main goal on focusing the research activities and scientific cooperation on the electronic state spectroscopy of biological relevant, atmospheric (and aeronomic) and the semiconductor industry molecules, radiation effect in biological systems as well as negative ion formation by electron transfer processes in atom(potassium)-(bio)molecule collisions.

At the moment the research motivations are on the VUV electronic state spectroscopy by synchrotron radiation, negative ion yields by electron attachment in the gas phase and electron stimulated desoprtion in the condensed phase with low energy electrons (<20 eV) and electron scattering of biological relevant and aeronomic molecules, the latter including global warming, ozone depletion and seeking environmentally friendly molecules for plasma processing. Other current research interests are the reactivity of co-adsorbed species in ices in the interstellar medium.


3. Laser Technology Group

Group Leader: Dawei Liang

Lab: 242, Ed. 1

Laser technology group of CEFITEC was established to largely enhance both source (either natural like the Sun or artificial like electricity)-to-laser power conversion efficiency and beam quality of the state-of-the-art solid-state lasers, with special emphasis on renewable solar-pumped laser researches. Some of our researches results on solar-pumped lasers were highlighted or featured by Editors of CSP Today, Spotlights on Optics in 2012, Laser Physics in 2013, Laser Focus World in 2013 and 2016, Journal of Photonics for Energy in 2019 and 2020. Our research group was supported by NOVA solar laser facility composed of a solar heliostat and a 1kW solar furnace (primary solar mirror) and a mechanical supporting unit, along with many prototypes solar laser heads. Our solar laser laboratory was established more than a decade ago. It is now possible to carry out both advanced solar laser researches and postdoctoral, Ph.D., MSc. degree student trainings by its solar facilities. It can also be considered an excellent laser-in-action classroom for strengthening the divulgation activities of both the CEFITEC and the Physics Department in FCT-UNL. Innovative spirit and valuable scientific expertise gained by team members along the years are essential to ensure its further progress in renewable laser technologies in the next decade.

Check more information here



Last update: June 2020